2 Comments

Baby It’s HOT Outside!

Hey y’all!
Did you think I’d died? Nope, just been super busy working the day job and showing my boobs to anyone who’ll buy a ticket!

Last month I went on a mini tour with Broads & Panties for our Heavy Metal UNCHAINED show. I performed in Oklahoma City, Fort Worth, Dallas and Austin. It was so much fun! I got to spend time with some great gals,  see my friend Jess, and of course perform for lots of people. I also performed in a great show called Diffusion AND at Viva Dallas Burlesque!!! It was a wild ride for sure.

The weather has been ridiculously hot and I’ve been trying to make dinner most nights, although sometimes it’s just a cold sandwich. I had sort of fell off the meal planning wagon while all the performing madness was going on and boy did my checkbook suffer for it. But I think I’m back on the game. On Sunday mornings I sit down and look through Pinterest and Food Gawker and my go to recipe notebook and figure out what I want to eat for the week. I make out a menu and a grocery list. It really helps the lack of budgeting because I’m pretty good at sticking to the list as long as I don’t go to the store hungry! I also try to make out my list in an Excel spreadsheet and divide what I need up by the way the store is laid out. It makes it so much faster!

I’ve been trying to stick to no cook or meals with grilled stuff and salads. One of the sort of no cook things I like to make is this Chinese noodle salad, the only thing you have to cook are the noodles.

I had this salad first at a place by my work called Social Bake House Cafe. It’s one of those fancy chicken salad places where ladies who lunch go. They have sandwiches, salads, breakfast stuff and bakery items. All of the bakery things I’ve had are pretty good but unfortunately, the food is hit or miss. This salad was a miss. I hate it when I go out someplace and take the first bite of something and think “I could make this better at home!”. It had too much dressing and I really think it was missing some of the stuff the menu board said was in it. I’ve made it a couple of times and I like it a lot. It makes a good supper and lunch leftovers.

Of course, I changed it up a little to make it better. I use Rainbow Salad mix instead of Napa cabbage. I use the salad mix because I wouldn’t use the whole head of cabbage and it would go to waste. I also add cilantro because I think it makes it fancy and y’all know how I feel about fancy shit. I chose to use the precooked chicken because I was in a hurry but I really don’t like it. It has a funky fake taste so from now on I will cook my own chicken.

And away we go…

Gather up your stuff. You need Rainbow salad mix (It’s like a broccoli slaw type thing. You can use Napa cabbage if you’d rather), Asian Toasted Sesame salad dressing, cashews, Mandarin oranges, grilled chicken, noodles of some sort, green onions, and cilantro.

Put your noodle water on to boil. Add a little salt to it but not too much because the bottled salad dressing has quite a bit of salt in it already.

Strong arm Dillon into helping with the photo taking.

Chop your cilantro.

Chop your green onions. Roger bought me these scissor things and they scare the fuck outta me. He got them for me to chop herbs but I only use them for green onions. My knife skills are pretty shitty so I never can chop these damn things with a regular knife.

Drain your oranges.

Drain your noodles and get a steam facial…We multitask around here.

Clean up your mess from goofing off with Dillon…I always have to get 2 cans of cashews because Dillon and I will chat while I cook and eat one can while we’re chatting and next thing you know, no cashews for the salad.

Put everything in a big bowl.

Add as much dressing as you like…I think I used about half of this bottle.

Mix everything up good.

And TAH-DAH! Supper is on bitches!

And that’s it! Easy peasy, right?

You can really use whatever you’d like in here. I think it would be pretty good with different stuff in it; I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

If you want to catch me at a show, I’ll be at The Boiler Room on 8/10/12 for a Tarantino Tribute and at The Basement Bar on 8/17/12.

Let me know if you make this and what you did to make it your own.

TTFN!

xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Baby It’s HOT Outside!

  1. Since you can’t come Tuesday I wil try to get this done to share with our Sisters and promote the blog! xxx ooo

Leave a Reply

