Leave a comment

I <3 Potatoes

I love potatoes.

Fried.

Mashed.

Baked.

Souped.

Chipped.

I don’t care what you do to them, I’ll eat them and I will be very happy.

I also love Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Bad. As my friend Sho would say, “they rock my balls”.  They are a three piece band that consists of The Rev, his wife Breezy and Aaron, a distant cousin. They’re from Southern Indiana and I really don’t know how to describe their music. It’s sort of country (old school country, not the shit they play today), sort of rock-a-billy, sort of…Well I don’t know, it just fuckin’ blows me away. I heard them for the first time a few years ago when they opened for Flogging Molly at the House of Blues in Dallas. My friend Sara and I took my Boyos to see Flogging Molly. We got them GA tickets and we sat up in the Presbyterian section. I had never heard of the Rev and them but when Breezy Peyton stepped out on that stage in her dress and red cowboy boots totin’ her washboard, I was hooked. They’re just down home people playing down home music about Mama’s fried potatoes.

What’s not to love?

You can find out more about The Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band at http://www.bigdamnband.com

Meanwhile you can listen to my favorite songs from them here:

Leave a Reply

