4 Comments

Scooter Got Married!

My sister Rochelle  got married recently. She’s the oldest Twin. The Twins are Rochelle and Roselle, a.k.a. Scooter and Tyke respectively.

Scooter and Tim decided they didn’t want a wedding with all the bullshit that comes with having and planning a wedding.

Thank you Jesus.

No bridesmaid dresses, party planning or pissy bride to deal with. Just “you want ‘er?” “Yeah” You got ‘er” and everybody has a beer and we’re all on our happy way.

BUT, we are a large family and we like to have large celebrations. Okay, I like to have large celebrations, so when she said they’d get married at the JP in Victoria and come up to Mom and Dad’s the next day to see everyone, I told her I’d plan her a little shindig so they could have cake and presents. Every girl wants cake and presents and if they say they don’t they’re full of shit.

We decided we’d have pot luck and cupcakes.

I made cute little postcard invitations and sent them out. A word about invitations, I learned in some families, alright in my family, it might be a good idea to send everybody a shout out via Facebook or something in case the post office fails you. These days it’s not a really big deal if you invite people to parties via Facebook or evite rather than mailing out formal invitations. If you’re having a formal event then yeah, you want to send out fancy invitations with RSVP cards and all that business. If you’re just having a pot luck in the back yard and it’s low key and you’re low key then why spend the money. I mean hell, our Roxie and her Efrain sent out their wedding invitations via evite unless they knew you’d get crabby then they sent you a paper invitation. It’s just whatever blows your skirt up , you know.

I decided I wanted to cook this nice chunk of pig I had in the freezer. It was a really great pork shoulder.

Dude, I love me some pig. We raised pigs when I was in high school. They were the most versatile of the show animals we had accumulated. We could show them and then eat them and everybody was happy. One of the best things in the world is bacon from a pig you raised yourself. The downside was we ate a lot of breakfast sausage. I never really liked breakfast sausage but it was what we had so it was what I ate. Since I’ve got my house and my family, I don’t cook breakfast sausage and I will not eat it either. Notice I didn’t say grown up? The last time I cooked it, I thought I was gonna hurl and I told Roger, sorry dude, never again.

So I’ve got this shoulder in my freezer and I really wanted to smoke it but the logistics of getting the smoker to the house didn’t work out so I decided rather than trying to jack with doing a makeshift smoker on the grill, I’d just do it in the oven and put a rub on it. Here’s how it went:

For the rub I used: garlic powder, cayenne pepper, onion powder, Italian seasoning,

chili powder, smoked paprika, celery seed, white pepper, cumin, rubbed sage,

light brown sugar,

and salt.

I used about this much of everything.

Mix everything up well.

Break up the big chunks of brown sugar.

I put the meat on paper towels.

Then I dried it off.

And I schmeared the rub on.

Get the rub on all sides of the meat. I lifted up the paper towel and kinda pressed the run of in.

I put it in the oven at 300 degrees, skin side up to keep it juicy.

This is what it looks like after about 45 minutes.

This is what it looks like when he's done.

The skin and the fat underneath are SO good. It makes me fat girl happy.

After you get the skin and most of the fat off, you just pull the bones apart at the joint and pull off the meat in big chunks.

You can pull it with two forks but in the end it's just easier and faster to use your hands.

Here it is all pulled and ready for the party.

Before I put the lid on the pan I put the skin back on to help keep the meat from drying out.

All told, I think it cooked for about 3 to 3 and a half hours, I really don’t know to be honest. I put it in around 9 that morning and when I got home from running errands around 2 or 2:15 that afternoon, it was done. It turned out good but I would have liked it better smoked. I think I just had my heart set on a good smoked pulled pork sandwich.

I like to eat mine on a sesame seed Mrs. Baird’s hamburger bun with my cole slaw on it. I wish I would have had some of the mustard barbecue sauce from Miss Willie Jewel’s in Charleston South Carolina to put on it. I am a confirmed hater of barbecue sauce but that shit will rock your socks.

Hope you try it, if you do let me know how it turned out and  what you did to make it your own.

TTFN!

xoxo

4 comments on “Scooter Got Married!

  1. This (http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-mustard-barbecue-sauce-10000000549894/) is the recipe I use for SC-style mustard sauce. It’s super close to the real thing. I do a few things differently: I half the chili powder and the cayenne (I find the full strength overpowering to the overall recipe), and use black pepper instead of white. It is delicious, especially on a nice piece of pork like you pictured!

Leave a Reply

