4 Comments

Ode to Mr. Owen

Every Thursday in the cafeteria at the Vought plant on Jefferson Street is omelet day. I hated working at Vought but I LOVED omelet day. My sister Rachel and I would indulge together and it was amazing. They have it set up and you get your little plastic cup thing and put all the stuff you want in your omelet in there and you give it to Mr. Owen and he fixes it up right there in front of you. Then you get all of the potatoes, fruit and pastries you can eat. It’s a fat girl fantasy come true.

I have to say a couple of things about Mr. Owen. He was a really nice man, he could run two pans at once and he could flip the eggs outta the pan and catch them, he always remembered I liked mine with half his handful of cheese and he always made me smile. He reminded me of a small town diner cook that has been in the same spot for years and years. He is one of the three things I miss about working at Vought.

I always wanted to get high and have omelet day but they randomly drug test there so that was always a big fat no go. Plus there’s the whole being high at work thing and it just would have been a bad idea all around anyway. Those who have seen me high are nodding in agreement.

I got a sudden craving omelet the other morning. The night before I had gone out to see one of my all time favorite burlesque performers, Erin Go Braughless, make her triumphant return to the stage after having a baby. I have to tell you about Erin. She is a bad mother fucker. She is one of the reasons, if not THE reason, I decided I could be a burlesque performer. She has this amazing energy that just grabs you by the balls and sucks you in and you cannot take your eyes off of her for one minute.  I love her and I want to have her babies, well, maybe not have her babies but, you get my drift, right?

Anyway, I woke up the next morning with a bad ass headache. I don’t know what happened, I only drank one beer and didn’t have any smoke or anything. I think maybe it could have been because you can still smoke in the bars in Ft. Worth and everybody and their sister had a cigarette lit up, including me. I’m just not used to being able to smoke in a bar and since I don’t smoke in my house and just really don’t smoke all that much in general, it got to me. So, I figured the best thing to do would be to have a cuppa, something to eat and half a hydrocodone. That’s when it hit me I wanted omelet day.

And I set about having my version I will call Garden Scramble…

I scrounged around in the fridge and found some tomatoes, red bell pepper and broccoli. I chopped them up as nice as I could with my suck ass knife skills.

Most of the time I use 2 eggs but I was pretty hungry so I used 3...A word about eggs...I prefer eggs that come from chickens who run around in someone's yard and eat bugs and hen scratch...They are SO much better than the eggs you get at the grocery.

Melt some butter in your pan. I most always use real unsalted butter. Me and Paula Deen are gonna have the die-ah-beet-us together.

Add your veg to the pan.

Give them a splish of salt and pepper.

Scribble your eggs. (when our Bekah was little she didn't say scrambled eggs, she said scribbled eggs)

Add the eggs to the pan

And scribble away until the eggs are cooked the way you like them.

When my eggs were done, I gave them some cheese. I think I used the leftover from the baked taquitos.

Scrounged around and found a bit of leftover bread from when we had steak and potato soup and decided it would be yum-o for toast.

Oh hey! Screwdriver would be pretty bad ass too!

Toast is ready.

Yum. Yum.

So there you have it a nice breakfast made from stuff I found in the fridge.

Let me know know if you make it and what you did to make it your own.

TTYL!

xoxo

4 comments on “Ode to Mr. Owen

  1. I love Owen too! He makes his amazing bbq chicken flatbread pizzas for me every once in a while even though he’s never able to sell very many of them. Two Thursday’s ago he had 4 omelet pans going at once…he’s my hero!

  2. YUMMMMMM!!!! I’m collecting culinary awesomeness from you. Cool tablecloth & coffee cup!

Leave a Reply

