2 Comments

Pinterest Comes to the Party

I love Pinterest!!! I love it because I have finally found a way to keep up with all of the shit I see online and don’t bookmark because it never occurs to me that you can do that until it’s too late.

I pinned 2 recipes from there and made them for our Super Bowl soiree.  One was Baked Chicken Taquitos and the other was 5 Layer Greek Dip.

These are the original links for them:

http://www.thelovelycupboard.com/2011/09/5-layer-greek-dip.html

http://www.careskitchen.com/2012/01/baked-chicken-and-cheese-taquitos.html

So I took issue with a couple of things in the taquitos recipe. First off I am of the opinion that taquitos are made from strictly from corn tortillas and flautas are made from flour tortillas so in actuality these would be flautas and not taquitos. The only exception are taquitos that come from Whataburger but everybody and their Grannie knows those are just tacos anyway. The second thing I had problems with is that the lady calls tortillas “small soft tortilla shells”. What the fuck is up with that shit? A tortilla and a shell are two COMPLETELY different food products. A taco shell is a vehicle for crunchy tacos and a tortilla, while it is also a  vehicle for a taco, is in my mind a bread substitute. I even commented and tried to ask her what the hell she was talking about and pointed out the fact that it was clear she used flour tortillas and she replied and said yes she did use flour tortillas, I was still like “Lady where the HELL are you from that you don’t know what a tortilla is?”. But, I digress, not everyone is from Texas and not everyone is a taqueria food snob like I am so I had to let it pass.

Here’s my version that I call Baked Flautas:

You need ground chicken, seasoning for the chicken (Please don’t use a taco seasoning packet. That shit is so full of salt!!!), grated cheese, a can of diced tomatoes, flour tortillas and some vegetable oil.

This is what you do:

Season your chicken

I used pepper, oregano, garlic powder, chili powder, garlic powder, ground cumin and kosher salt.

Heat your pan and add some oil. You need the oil because ground chicken has no fat.

Cook your chicken and then add your can of tomatoes. Drain the tomatoes before you add them.

Grate your cheese. I used Monteray Jack, a mild cheddar and queso fresco.

My grocery makes fresh tortillas and they are so good you'll piss your pants. I won't buy any other kind.

After your chicken is cooked, drain it, put it in a bowl and add the cheese.

Soften your tortillas either on the stove or in the microwave and then roll up your flautas.

Put your flautas on a baking sheet. I lined mine with parchment so in case they splooged there wouldn't be a mess.

Brush your flautas with vegetable oil so they crisp up and get brown. Bake at 350 for about 15-20 minutes.

Let your flautas cool a bit and then put them on a nice serving plate.

You can serve them with sour cream, salsa, and guacamole.

We really liked them and I hope you do too. Let me know if you make them and what you did to make them your own.

TTFN!

xoxo

2 comments on “Pinterest Comes to the Party

  1. Looks delicious..and yes flour tortilla is not a shell!..it’s a tortilla! i sometimes use flour tortillas as fried taco shells..bert and keef really like that! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

