Leave a comment

Super Bowl Sunday 2012 Part I

Guests:

Rachel, Mel, and Queenie. Rachel is my sister, Mel is her girlfriend, and Queenie is their daughter. Rachel and I belly dance together sometimes. This is us at the Nearly Naked Nutcracker that was at Trees in Dallas this past December. This photo was taken by Mark Kaplan of http://www.nakedlens.org.

Sara. She used to date our brother John and that’s how I met her. She and John broke up but we reminded very good friends. Sara is now married to Vern. They got married this last September. This is Sara and I at the Elm Street Tattoo Christmas Party a couple of years ago. We were both a bit tipsy.

Mom & Dad. I couldn’t find any recent photos of my parents together. I guess that’s what happens when Methuselah presided over your wedding ceremony.

Menu:

Chicken Wings 3 Ways

Five Layer Greek Dip

Baked Flautas

Veggie Tray

Build Your Own Bloody Mary Bar

Assorted Chips, Crackers, and other drinks

***********************************************************

I’m not much of a sports fan. I do like hockey if I can go see the game live. Ever since they got rid of the thing that highlights the puck and follows it around, I have a hard time watching it on TV because I can’t keep up with what the hell is going on. I do love rugby and will watch it on TV whenever I can find it. My sister Roxie was on the first ever women’s rugby team at the University of Texas at Austin and she and the Twins played for the Dallas Debutantes for a while. I loved going to watch them play. I still only have a very basic understanding of rugby but I really like it a lot. Football is okay. I liked it much more when I was in the band in high school and I’ve been to a college game and to see the Dallas Cowboys play once but I really don’t care about watching it on TV. It’s just a bunch of overpaid, undereducated men/boys chasing a ball around on a field.  I watch the Super Bowl for the half time show and the commercials. I am glad to say that Madonna did not disappoint this year.

But on to the food!!

I don’t remember when or why I started making my own chicken wings. I think we had a Super Bowl shindig at Mom and Dad’s one year and Martha Stewart (pre-prison) had a Super Bowl party in her magazine, which sucks now by the way. I’m pretty sure Mom saw it and said “oh let’s do this” which is code for “hey I found this recipe in this magazine and I want you to come to my house and make it”. You know what, it was a Super Bowl thing and it was my birthday too because I remember Grandma commenting on how I got stuck in the kitchen cooking chicken wings for everyone on my birthday.

Anywhoo…

This year I made 3 kinds of wings; traditional, naked, and some I just breaded in seasoned flour. The ones in the seasoned flour were just okay, I didn’t get enough seasoning in the flour, so now I know.

When I buy wings I buy the already separated ones because I’m not spending time dissecting chicken wings. I usually buy more of the flat parts than the drumstick parts because that’s what I like. I also let them sit on the counter and come to room temperature before I cook them because it seems to take longer to cook them straight out of the fridge. Don’t yell at me about food borne illnesses because I make sure it is thoroughly cooked and most food borne illnesses come from food that is not properly prepared.

I always use 2 pans to cook wings so it goes faster. I don’t know why, but it seems to take those little bastards for-freaking-ever to cook even when they are at room temp.  I use peanut oil for frying them because peanut oil will hold up to being at a high temperature for an extended amount of time without burning which in turn will make your food taste burnt.

For the traditional wings, you will need some wings (duh), a bottle of Frank’s Red hot sauce, a stick of unsalted butter. Real butter please. Not margarine. Not I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter. Real butter. And no, you can’t leave it out either. The breaded ones will need all-purpose flour and whatever seasonings you want to use. The naked ones are pretty self-explanatory.

You will also need heavy pans and peanut oil for the frying.  I used my cast iron Dutch oven and my big ass Le Creuset pan. The Dutch oven seemed to work much better than the Le Creuset pan. Maybe because it’s smaller, I don’t know.

Now down to the nitty-gritty…

Let your chicken sit out for a bit.

Make your seasoned flour if you’re doing breaded wings.

I needed more of my seasonings for the amount of flour I used.

Run your wings through the flour.

They will be golden brown and will float when they’re done.

Here’s the set up for the traditional wings. I’m not a huge fan of spicy food but I really like these. I think it’s the vinegar in the Frank’s that I like.

You need the whole stick of butter and the whole bottle of hot sauce. Put it on the stove and heat it until the butter melts. Give it a couple of good whisks and then set it to the side. Don’t put your face near the pan. Just trust me on this one, okay?

This is the set up I use. A sheet pan with a wire rack for draining, a bowl for saucing, the sauce and my serving dish.

Put your drained wings in the bowl and put some of the sauce on them.

Give them a shush around the bowl a couple of times.

This poor guy jumped out of the bowl! lol

After you shush your wings around in the sauce a bit put them in your serving dish and put it in a warm oven to hold them until you’re done and your guests arrive. Or you can cover them with foil and them set out if you want. They’re pretty good at room temperature too.

I didn’t get any pictures of the finished product, sorry. I was on a time schedule and ran out of time. I just served them out of a pie plate and everyone was happy.

So that’s it really, wings aren’t hard, just messy and time-consuming. Totally worth the effort though. Less expensive than restaurant ones and you control what does and doesn’t go in them.

Let me know if you make some and what you did to make them your own.

TTYL!!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

