Leave a comment

Steak & Potato Soup

I had a crazy assed dream the other night about soup. I had pots of soup cooking EVERY WHERE! On all the burners of my stove, in the fire-place, on grill, on the burner on the grill, I had even dug a pit in my living room floor and had a pot of soup going in there too. All the soups were different too. I had chopping stations for every soup and I was running around like a goober chopping, stirring and tasting. It was one of the craziest things I think I’ve ever dreamed. I texted Rachel about it and she said I must have too much shit going on all at one time. She’s pretty smart like that. I did decide though, that I wasn’t going to take any chances and I was going to make some soup.

I had a good bit of leftover steak in the fridge that needed to get used up so I figured I’d make a steak and potato soup. I goofed around on the internet for a bit and found this recipe http://www.simplecomfortfood.com/2010/09/19/steak-and-potato-soup/ and decided to use it for a guide. I didn’t follow it to the t but I stayed pretty close to it.

You will need some leftover steak, half of an onion, some garlic, some reduced sodium beef broth, potatoes, carrots, a couple of splashes of red wine, a bay leaf or two, some parsley, and some good bread.

Chop your onion and carrots.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t bother to peel the carrots because it looks rustic. Okay, well, that’s not entirely true. I don’t peel them because I’m too effin lazy to stand there and peel carrots. And that’s the same reason I use pre-chopped garlic. But if you want to peel carrots and chop garlic, have at it.

Peel your potatoes and cut them into chunks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also don’t worry about getting stuff all the same size. Number one, my knife skills are not mad and because I’m too lazy and usually in too much of a hurry to jack with it.

Get your pan nice and hot and add some oil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can use whatever oil you want, I use olive oil.

Add your onions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t do like I did and not pay attention to what’s going on and burn the onions. I got the pan a little too hot and my onions got a little browner than I wanted them to.

Cut up your steak while your onions are cooking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I actually cut the steak into fairly small bits.

Add your steak, carrots, and garlic to the pot.

Give everything a good stir and add your beef stock or broth or whatever you call it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I always use reduced sodium broths. Have you ever actually READ a box or can of broth? There’s enough salt in that shit to sustain a village in India for eons!!!

Add the wine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not a huge wine drinker. There are some wines I enjoy drinking but I’m more of a beer or vodka tonic girl. I got this one because it was less than 5$ and it has a screw cap on it. So there you go.

Add your bay leaves.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’re cooking for my husband, make sure you take the bay leaves out of whatever you made. He choked on one once when he was a kid and will swear up and down you’re trying to kill him if he finds a bay leaf in his dish.

So you bring your soup to a boil and then turn the heat down and let it bubble away until your potatoes and carrots are cooked the way you like them.

Chop your parsley and add it so your soup doesn't look so Oliver Twist and sad.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slice up your nice bread and serve up your soup in your favorite dish (I got this one at Scarborough Faire a few years ago and I love to eat out of it!) .

I got this bread at Brookshire's and it was really good!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So that’s all there is to it. I think it took me about 45 minutes to make it start to finish and that includes the time it took for the potatoes and carrots to cook.

Let me know if you make it and what you did to make it your own.

TTYL!

Leave a Reply

